Concrete Slab Foundations for Mobile Homes

I am in the process of buying a double-wide and am considering to set it on a concrete slab foundation. I have no experience with this and also cannot find any good references. Should I hire an engineer to design the foundation? What are the specifications? What are the costs involved? I would greatly appreciate any help from people who have or do use concrete slab foundations for double-wides.

Thank you in advance,

Alexander H.

1 Like

Alexander

The guidelines I have always followed in regards to permenant foundations were provided by the mobile home manufacturer, the city or county in which I was performing the work in or a engineer. I would make calls to all the above for advice.

Rick

P.S. Keep in mind I come from a construction developement background in CA. were we have earthquakes and our foundations are built to withstand an atomic blast

Alexander, the goal of concrete under the supports of the home is to avoid frost heave. If you live in an area in which the soil does not freeze in winter, there is no benefit to having concrete placed below supports. You will need to determine your soil type (use pernometer) check with manufacturers specs for the size of base pad for your geographic area. Make sure that your grading is such that water flows away from house, do not create places for water to pool under home. use a vapor barrier, and make sure to vent dryer outside skirting.

The main reason for a permanent foundation with a mobile home in my experience was to get a loan from a bank. This business is so regional and area specific. CA is a real pain

Thank you for your responses. We do not have frost heaves in out region. The city and local banks have no standards for concrete slab foundation. One bank suggested to use FHA standards, but couldn’t tell us what these standards are. Mr. Sisco, could you give me details about a vapor barrier please.

Thank you,

Alexander H.

Alexander,