Buying first Park, need help

I am new to the park buying world. I am looking at buying a park from a friend that I think I am getting a good deal on. It has 32 Lots and they are and have been full at all times. The lot rent is $140 per. I will pay $900 yr in Insurance and $1150 yr in taxes. All lots pay their own water, elec…etc. The purchase price is $400,000. Does this seem like a good deal?

I need to know where to start, do I need a survey, any approvals by state or county. Park has been open since 1994. What all should I do or have done prior to buying it?

Lastly, about a year ago the land to the north began pushing the water between two trailers and down to the draining running along the street. Well, the water gets bad during rain and it takes weeks for it to dry out while it continues to look like it is a running faucet. Is there any true concerns I need to look at, where do I start with having it looked at to make sure it is not going to cause me problems? Any and all help is really appreciated. Thanks

Mike, I own 2 parks in Tucson and in both deals we used local realtors who only sell parks and can hire the right people to check these concerns for little money. If you have the property appraised it will run about 2000-4000 dollars to get the value. Insurance sounds a little low. One of me parks that has 60 spaces with structures runs about 7500 per year(15 park owned mobiles). Sounds like a good deal but still get local professionals to help you.

RickyD,

Thanks for the reply, the cost for Insurance I placed was for the park only with no trailers. I pay about $450 yr on each trailer I own at the park. Which is only one at this park in question. I am trying to avoid any realtors to save cost. Is their a certain company of type of company that will come out my my behalf to inspect? I hope I am doing the right thing here!!!

Hi RickyD,