Anyone used Benetrends or Guident Financial

Both of these companies have an interesting way of using retirement funds to buy a business that you can be directly involved with, unlike a self-directed IRA or 401K.

Basically they create a C-Corp, start a 401K for the C-corp, you rollover your retirement funds into the C-corp 401K and the 401k buys the C-corp stock and then the C-corp has funds to use as it pleases. See their web sites for better info.

I’m looking to see if anyone has done this or know of someone that has?

I talked to my CPA and he thinks it’s an interesting concept and is looking at it more to provide me with some guidance to its legitimacy.

If he says its legit, I may give it a try.

If you are considering the ROBS act take a look at SD Cooper. I have no experience with them other than a lengthy conversation with Steve (owner) who is upfront about the 1974 ERISA law and what the intent was when drafted. He is also upfront that the fee you pay him to set up the necessary Profit-Sharing Plan (not a 401(k)) can be done on your own with an attorney who you are going to need anyhow but most regular attorneys don’t practice ERISA law as that is a specialty. I was ready to pull the trigger with them on a park but the deal fell apart at the 11th hour. I’m back in the shopping mode. The down payment on whatever deal we go with will determine if we’ll go the ROBS way. Also, I’ve had a couple of thousand dollars worth of ERISA attorney expenses all advising me against even getting involved with ROBS because it’s an untested grey area and involved the IRS as well as the DOL. Read the SD Cooper website and you’ll get a completely different picture than Guidant has. This is in no way an endorsement for or against the companies mentioned or the utilization of ROBS as a financing method.